2009 is officially coming to a close…

It’s that time of year where we always ask the question out loud “Where did the year go?”

2009 wasn’t at all a perfect year. It was rough for many. We are in a recession. It got harder for a lot of us to make ends meet. And people were either unsatisfied with the work opportunities available, or frustrated with their jobs, but grateful to even be working when most weren’t.

Even the celebrity Grim Reaper put in a lot of overtime this year.

Fortunately for me, the good outweighed the bad that happened this year. Of course I didn’t get everything I really wanted. But compared to the few years prior, it was a major improvement. I had to be grateful that in a year where most people’s careers stalled, I had good working opportunities. I have my health. I have my family and good friends. So I don’t look back on 2009 with any sort of disdain whatsoever.

But I learned a few major things this year. For starters I learned that my current fate is based on the choices and decisions I made in the past. Seems easy to understand. And its embarrassing that in 28 years I haven’t been able to understand that. But now that I am fully grasping that concept, I spent most of 2009 trying to correct my mistakes and make good on a lot of things. I tried hard in 2009 to make the people I care about happy. I also spent time trying to be fair. I eliminated a lot of unhealthy things that weighed me down. I made even deeper connections with people I already had in my life. I made profound connections with some people I never expected to see again.

And I made a connections that I hope last for many years to come.

2009 was definitely interesting to say the least.

With the lessons I have learned, I am by no means perfect. Like every human being in the history of life, I did make decisions that I am not too proud of. But the thing is with any bad decisions I have made, I didn’t make any of them with bad intentions. There is a famous quote: “Don’t ever confuse thoughtlessness with malice”.

I think that best describes my hand full of bad choices in 2009 perfectly.

Another thing I learned is that the gratification of getting even with people who have wronged you is a short lived and empty feeling. Sure in all honesty, it feels good initially. But what do you even get out of it? Absolutely nothing in the long run. It’s unhealthy to operate that way, always looking for ways to get even. Because all of that negative energy eventually bounces back on you in unexpected ways. And who wants that? Who wants to walk through this life with a cloud of negativity building above them? I know I sure as hell don’t. So that’s why I am just at a place now where I forgive everyone, and hope they forgive me for ANYTHING they may think I have done wrong, and move forward.

Looking back on the year that was, I can only have faith that all of the groundwork I laid.  The hard work I did (in all aspects of my life). The bonds I made with people. The enhanced friendships I cultivated. And the gradual evolution of my attitude for the better, all leads to a successful, happier, fun and exciting 2010.

I’m in no position to hand out advice as I am clearly no expert on life. But one thing I have to say to everyone out there is that your current situation can change if you work at it. It may seem like self help new age crap to most. But I truly believe that anything is possible with the right frame of mind. And remember that your choices ultimately affect more than yourself alone.

One more important thing. Life moves at a pace so quick, try to remember to smile more.

I wish you all a successful, happy, and healthy 2010.

B-

