Under any other circumstances, I could have been dead right now.

Pretty morbid title for a post no?

It seems like no sooner than I restarted this blog I had to take another pause to deal with another personal issue. Unfortunately on Saturday I was involved in a car accident. I’m fine. My brother who was in the car with me is fine. The other car involved is fine.

So if everything is fine, why the need to even worry? I’m after all fine.

But you know what, even though I walked away unharmed, the memory of what went down will always stick with me.

Cars are not toys. Driving isn’t something that should be taken lightly. I was always one of those people who wondered “How the hell does a person just lose control of a car?”

But now I know it happens. Because it happened to me.

After driving for nearly an hour and a half without incident from Upstate NY, I somehow lost control of the car in the middle of the New York State Thruway. I was awake. Alert. I am not a speed demon, so I was well within the 65MPH speed limit. But my memory of what happened leading up to the accident is blank now.

Apparently I swerved to avoid hitting someone, almost hit someone else, hit another person in the process and then the car I was driving ended up spinning 2 times in the middle of the highway where we somehow ended up on the shoulder of the fast lane of the highway unscathed.

No one else hit us. We are fine. We’re alive.

All I remember is a lot of yelling, spinning, and headlights. Needless to say it was a pretty traumatic experience that my brother and I were lucky to walk away from with our lives. And I am also very fortunate that I did not hurt anyone, or that it wasn’t an even bigger, tragic thing. The driver of the car I hit was up the road, and he hugged me and my brother because he thought we were surely going to be dead.

Not the reaction you expect from someone who you hit with your car.

Why am I sharing this? Well because I just felt the need to actually talk about it finally because I have not really done so. Will it help me put it behind me? Who knows? But that is the reason I have been so quiet.

I do have a renewed appreciation for the things and people around me who matter. And while it seems that it’s been one frustration and disappointment piled onto another in the last couple of days, I still have to be grateful for the fact that I walked away from a potentially devastating accident with my life.

I’m still breathing. I’m still standing.

I’m sure people have endured far more than what I have experienced. Some are probably even saying, “Your car spun out? Big fucking deal you’re alive!”.

But for me, this accident capped off a pretty interesting year. It was a year of a lot of change and growth where I learned a lot more about myself. It was a year where by September, I had a defined focus and was working toward getting to where I really wanted to be in my life.

And I have to admit, I  became very unfocused and ridiculously stressed in recent weeks. My plans that I had a defined time-line for began to all get postponed or abandoned all together. Definitely not a good way to finish off an overall good year.

While no one wants to have a sudden brush with death, I have to say the incident on the highway course-corrected all of my plans. Second Chances are ridiculously few and far in-between. So I am taking this gift I have been given and am running with it.

So naturally, being the crazy, multitasking, insomniac of a person that I am, I have a lot of things in the works creatively. I am re-inspired. I am working on things that I intend to actually finish and not just start and later procrastinate on. My focus has been restored.

Maybe this was the kick in the ass I needed to start taking my plans seriously. The kick I needed to start appreciating all of the good in my life and stop focusing solely on the bad. The taste of reality that forces me to stop being Mr. Worst Case Scenario and become Mr. Let’s Make It Happen No Matter What.

We’ll see how this all develops from here on out.

As far as my blog is concerned, I plan to get back into it after the Thanksgiving break. But in the meantime, to everyone, have a happy, healthy and SAFE Thanksgiving Weekend.

In closing, I would like to share what I wrote on my Facebook Account this week:

“They say “Life Is Too Short”. But you don’t understand the meaning of the phrase until you are faced w/ a situation that could have proven it true. I encourage everyone to fully enjoy life despite any current circumstances that may be bringing you down. That fact that you are here to still live life, is the ultimate “Pro” that outweighs any “Cons”…”

With that, I hope you all enjoy your Thanksgiving and the upcoming Holiday Season.

B-

