Finally! “Street Fighter IV” in 2008!

After school I would go across the street to the video store and waste countless quarters on “Street Fighter II”. It was my obsession, and quickly became one of my favorite video games of all time. I followed the countless sequels and cross overs and have always waited for a true sequel to be finally be released.

Sure “Street Fighter EX” tried something different, but to me they were lame as hell. The game seemed like a bootleg attempt at recreating “Tekken”. 

My hopes were finally realized when my favorite “Street Fighter” game was released; “Street Fighter 3rd Strike: Fight The Future”. The graphics were great, the characters were cool and the super moves were pretty damn nifty. It’s a game I still break out my PS2 for to play every now and then. Since then I wondered why any of the crossover games didn’t share the same graphics as “3rd Strike” since they were by far the most superior the franchise has ever seen. I even wanted another version of “3rd Strike” with all of my favorite Old School characters. But that never happened.

To be honest, as much as I love “Street Fighter”, I was never expecting to see another sequel. 2D fighting games are pretty much a niche market. Why would Capcom invest in making a new iteration of a game that only nostalgic 20-Somethings would buy?

I guess my thought process was wrong since there is a new and improved 2.5D “Street Fighter” game on the way.

“Street Fighter IV” is set for release in later 2008 and I for one am excited.

I know this news may be old as hell to gamers. Yup I’m late. Where the hell have I been? 🙂

I wonder what system this is being released on? Because if I have to finally fork over cash for a PS3 I will.

 

B-

