Movie Trailer: “The Happening”

 

The trailer for M. Night Shayamalan’s “The Happening” is out.

The movie looks good and everything but I unfortunately read about the films really stupid plot twist online so I don’t know if I want to see it. But the premise (minus the stupid twist) is great. People all of a sudden committing suicide for unknown reasons sounds like a good idea for a film.

But again, the plot twist involving trees and pheromones making people kill themselves sounds really dumb. An ending like that will probably upset people that are already frustrated with his twist ending routine even more.

I hated “The Village” and when the twist ending happened, I hated it even more. As a result I never even gave his follow up “Lady In The Water” a chance.

I think if Shayamalan will continue his twist ending gimmick, he might want to consider making an anthology type of a movie like “Creepshow” or “Tales from the Darkside”. Make a film with 3 short stories. That way with the shorter running time, plot twists are more effective. This approach doesn’t allow people a chance to figure the twist out before the end.

B-

