In “Celebration” of Paula Abdul’s Return To Music…..

 

Paula Abdul may be better known to this generation as just a judge on “American Idol”. Many are unfamiliar with the fact that she was essentially the original JLO. Like Lopez, Paula never had a great powerful singing voice, but she was a megastar who racked up many hits back in the day. She was also a really good dancer and an accomplished choreographer.

That’s why I refused to watch any second of Bravo’s “Hey Paula”.  I’d rather remember the Paula Abdul who danced with a rapping cat when I was in the 4th grade.

Anyhow with her return to music and performing around the corner (listen to her new single here) I was thinking back to all of her classically cheeseball videos. And of course Keanu Reeves and the clapping monkey in “Rush Rush” was a high light but another video and song stuck out to me.

I present to you a major contender for the most dramatic pop ballad of the 90’s. Her “Classic”, “Blowing Kisses In The Wind”.

I always reference this song when Paula gives any sort of singing advice to people on Idol. For starters, the big bridge of the song is sung by someone else. If the song isn’t a duet, why is homeboy interrupting your song to sing the best part?

Anyhow, I honestly don’t see her musical comeback going far. But stranger things have happened. And she gets to perform at the Superbowl? Good job Fox.

Hopefully she is coherent enough to make it work.

B-

