Go “Speed Racer” Go!

speed-racer-the-movie.jpg 

I normally don’t really geek out over movies for children, but I’m going to make an exception here for many reasons. For starters, it’s based on a cartoon from my youth. And for once it doesn’t look like something nostalgic from my youth is being remade and watered down.

It also helps that “Speed Racer” is directed by The Wachowski’s. Say what you will about “The Matrix Reloaded” and “The Matrix Revolutions”, but I enjoyed both films (save for some minor issues here and there). These guys are good directors, and I am curious to see what they will bring to a “G” rated kid flick.

The movie looks as bright and colorful as it should be, like a cartoon come to life. It’s an effective trailer. It’s great to see when good directors change genre’s on us. I know the brothers reputation is a little bit spotty now (with the “failure” of the last two “Matrix” films, and Larry’s penchant for dressing in drag) but whatever, they are still talented guys.

The cast looks spot on as well. Christina Ricci as Trixie is perfect.  

I look forward to taking my little cousins to see this when it is released in 2008.

B-

