An Official “The Dark Knight” Poster!

Official Poster

This is a great looking poster. The marketing for this film has been brilliant so far. I am so excited for next Summer to arrive already. I have been waiting to see this movie ever since the last scene in “Batman Begins” where “Gordon” gave “Batman” the Joker Playing Card.

I have complete faith that this film will satisfy my expectations.

What’s funny to me is how everyone claimed that “Batman Begins” was a flop when it initially came out, then the film quietly (throughout the Summer) made a hefty profit. Too bad the same can’t be said for the dull “Superman Returns”, a boring movie that has more apologists than fans.

Either way, the Batman franchise is probably the only comic to film series that I am interested in. With most of these films I have come to realize that the studios are not making them for me. Their target audience is young kids. So these movies are just kiddie films with a huge budget. And that’s part of the appeal of “Batman Begins” for me. It was an adult comic book movie.

It’s a shame that the comic book company I grew up reading “Marvel” (With the exception of “Iron Man”  since the trailer looks promising) hasn’t seemed to get it right with their movies. Sure “Spiderman” and its sequels have been the HBIC of the Box Office, but I did not enjoy those films at all. “Spiderman” was a rip off of Burton’s first “Batman” movie. “Spiderman 2” was a Romantic Comedy disguised as a Superhero flick and I especially loathe “Spiderman 3”. And let’s not get started on the poorly miscast “X-Men” films.

Either way, the build up and excitement for “The Dark Knight” really has me feeling like a Elementary School kid again. I hope that the film delivers on my expectations for it.

B-

