“Old School” Joint of the Day: Deniece Williams “Free”

loveniecystyle.jpg 

UPDATED TO REFLECT CORRECT ARTIST INFORMATION! 

One of the best things about old music are the times where you re-discover a song you listened to while growing up. This re-discovery can happen anywhere, whether it be at the supermarket or on the street or at a party.

With the case of Deniece Williams’ “Free”, it was while I was driving on the highway late at night going to my cousin’s house Upstate. I like to drive, but sometimes driving (especially for 2 and a half hours) by yourself gets you this strange lonely feeling.

So what better to do than put on “The Quiet Storm” on WBLS and wallow in self pity and lonliness? 🙂

As I started listening I was crossing the Tappan Zee Bridge and this song came on. I always remembered it being a great slow song. But I believe that some songs are appreciated better when you are older.

“Free” is one of those songs.

I hope you enjoy the song as much as I do.

B-

