“Old School” Joint of the Day: Allen Anthony “Alright”

Allen Anthony 

“Alright” is a song that was officially released by the rapper Freeway. I’m not a huge fan of Freeway. He just has one of those voices and rap flows that is not too easy on the ears at times.

The only Freeway song I jam to is “What We Do” and that’s mainly because of the production.

When I heard “Alright” I said “Damn, that song would be great if Allen Anthony were singing solo and Freeway were left off of it. And a couple of weeks later after an exhaustive internet search, and I found a solo version on Napster (RIP). 

“Alright” has been a fave of mine for years now. It’s one of those under the radar songs that you want to get shine, yet fear that if it does it will become so over played that you wind up hating it.

I don’t know what Allen Anthony has been up to since Roc-A-Fella dissolved into Def Jam. But he is a talented guy. He should try to get out there and release a CD if he hasn’t done so.

B-

Bonus Jam: Rell featuring Kanye West “Real Love” 

