“Old School” Joints of the Day: The Old Slow Jam Edition!

 

You all know I am a sucker for R&B slow jams. Since my last “Old School” post was about the dance music of Cece Peniston, I figured I would slow it down a bit.

Here are some of my favorite Old School Slow Jams……

Atlantic Starr’s “Send For Me” is just a great song. People know their more famous single “Always” which is an OK song. But I prefer this song. The lyrics, singing, vocal harmonies all make the song. It’s definitely a classic slow jam.

Keith Sweat never had a powerhouse R&B voice. He often sounded like he was begging. But “Make It Last Forever” is a classic duet. I used to sing this song with my cousin Joanne in her car as if we were on stage at the Beacon Theater. It’s one of Keith Sweat’s best, but he had a lot of songs that I like. 

Debarge was the oddest looking family in show business. I remember when they made an appearance on “Punky Brewster” when I was a kid. El Debarge never had a strong voice, but this song is another slow jam classic. The music and lyrics are cool. And the beat was later used for Biggie’s “One More Chance” and Ashanti’s “Foolish”.

Those were a few. Hope you enjoy them as much as I do! 

B-

