“Old School” Joint of the Day: Joe Jackson “Steppin Out”

Night and Day

When it comes to my musical tastes I can be a bit of an oddball. My Ipod is filled with different genres of music. So today, I thought I’d deviate from my norm of posting R&B/Hip Hop Music in my “Old School” posts, and expand a little bit.

Hey you can’t fault me for my insane love of R&B, it’s my mother’s fault. Her weekend cleaning sessions while listening to many old school R&B hits stuck with me. It’s funny how I even thought that The Main Ingredient recorded the Seals and Croft classic “Summer Breeze” first (because that was the version I grew up hearing.)

Anyhow, when I was younger, the go to guy in my family for musical diversity was my cousin Tone.

Tone was into every type of music (he still is), and as children we always admired his ecclectic musical tastes. I remember trying to be like him by thinking outside the box when it came to music. And I am glad I did.

This song “Steppin Out” has been a fave of mine for years. My cousin Eddie had the “Night and Day” album when we were kids.

I just liked the feeling that “Steppin Out” gave me. It was just a fun song. It’s also funny how years later the song wound up on “Flash FM” in the “Grand Theft Auto: Vice City” game. So you know I always left it on “Flash FM”. There was nothing like committing PS2 crimes and outrunning the Vice City Police Department to the song “Steppin Out”.

But it is a good song. And I sometimes sing it at Karaoke if I’m bored with the songs I usually sing.

Anyhow, here is the video to the song “Steppin Out”.

Enjoy!

Bonus Jam: Joe Jackson “Breaking Us In Two”

