“High School Musical”

It’s funny, 4 years ago I wouldn’t have been caught dead watching cheesy ass Disney nonsense. But when you have little kids around you, shit changes.

Ever since I got close to my 4 little cousins upstate, everything they were into became fair game. I’m the type of guy who as a child hated when grown ups talked down to me in stupid voices as if I was dumb. I also hated when they didn’t know anything about whatever latest entertainment craze I was into. So in an effort to actually be able to talk to my cousins about whatever they are into, I watch.

Ask me about Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends, or something on Disney, I got you. Degrassi or South of Nowhere? I got it covered. And of course its because of my cousins that I even know who Corbin Bleu, Zac Efron, Vanessa Hudgens and Ashley Tisdale even are.

Which brings me to “High School Musical”.

I have seen this movie many times. I don’t think there is anything wrong with it really. It’s a movie with no violence or sex with a message to kids telling them to be true to themselves. Why do older people knock it so much. Don’t you want kids to see non-threatening programming?

Anyhow, the sequel just aired on Disney and got a record 17.2 million viewers. And the soundtrack is on track to sell nearly a million copies the 1st week.

The power of children and their disposable income.

Anyhow, for the uninitiated, here is a clip from the movie.

Bland, Vanilla, Non-Violent, and Non-Sexual. Have my views changed? No, I still love hard core action movies and blood and guts horror movies, but when it comes to entertainment for children, this is probably the best out there.

And it also doesn’t hurt that it features a Latino main character (“Gabriella Montez”) and was directed and choreographed by a Latino (Kenny Ortega).

