You Called And Told Me!

So when I was younger in the early 90’s I used to stay at my cousin’s house after school. My aunt Sonny was in her late 20’s or early 30’s and she used to come home from work and jam in her room to the “Strictly Business” soundtack.

One song in particular, Jeff Redd’s “You Called And Told Me” was her fave, and she played it OVER AND OVER AND OVER.

Flashforward to about 7 years ago, and as a joke at her house, we played the song like 3 times in a row for her during a party.

Little did I know, that the song would soon after become a family anthem.

No matter what happens at any party my family is at, if “You Called And Told Me” comes on, my whole family acts like a chip in their brain was activated, and they all hit the dance floor to do the Bus Stop.

It’s some funny shit, but it’s basically one of the best shared experiences with my family that I will always look forward to.  

Last  night, Jeff Redd performed at the Seaport. And I thought to myself “Homeboy just got 1 hit, so what’s he gonna do sing “You Called and Told Me” 3 times?”

So I figured I’d get there towards the end of the show to catch his biggest hit.

And I freaking missed it. I missed doing the Bus Stop at the Seaport with my family.

And to top it off, he sang the song…. 3 TIMES!!!!!

Just like I freaking said. Anyhow, I’m going to have to make up for this mistake in timing big time!

Click Here If You Have No Idea Of What Song I Am Talking About!

B-

