Some of My Favorite TV Show Cliffhangers…

Yo-

Since the final episode of “The Sopranos” left us hanging with what is essentially a cliffhanger with no resolution, I figured I’d highlight some of my favorite TV Cliffhangers of all time in no particular order.
Some of them are from when I was very young, but thanks to Syndication of old hits and me being a couch potato insomniac, I have seen a lot of shows growing up through re-runs.

Here are some of my faves:

Dallas: One of the best and most defining prime time soaps of our time. It got huge ratings and was on for 13 freaking years. “Who Shot JR” was one of the most watched cliffhangers of ALL TIME. When you watch it now, it may seem a bit silly because main characters on TV shows face some sort of ridiculous peril during every Sweeps Period. But remember, Dallas started the cliffhanger trend as we know it. They set the standard, and everyone followed suit.

CLICK HERE TO SEE THE EVIL JR GET SHOT!

Dynasty: This show was my mother’s favorite TV show when I was a kid. I always remembered Alexis and Krystle slaping the shit out of each other or fighting. But this cliffhanger always stood out. As an aspiring writer of TV Programming, you always want to figure out an inventive way to shock your audience without infuriating them. And this cliffhanger did that (but it’s resolution the next season was lame.)

Not only does it take the “Who Shot JR” idea of shooting a main cast member, but it fucking upped the ante by shooting THE WHOLE CAST. And it also happened during another sweeps cliffhanger gimmick, a wedding.

CLICK HERE TO SEE THE MOLDAVIAN MASSACRE!

Melrose Place: I love Marcia Cross, and she is one of the main reasons I still watch “Desperate Housewives”, because Bree is like a more stable, grown up version of the wacko Kimberly that she played on MP. Here is a scene where Kimberly returns mysteriously, and everyone thinks she is OK. But we all know she’s hiding something, but what she is hiding turns out to be crazier than we expect. She also gets some more crazy points for blowing up the Melrose Place apartment complex some episodes later.

CLICK HERE TO SEE THE “SHOCKING” RETURN OF KIMBERLY!

Nip/Tuck: I love Nip/Tuck. It took me a while to get into it because Cablevision thought it was funny to not offer the FX Channel to it’s subscribers in the Bronx up until 2 years ago. So I had to re-watch and play catch up via Netflix. Basically Nip/Tuck is an adult soap opera that borrows heavily from the influence of “Dallas” and “Dynasty” and ups the shock factor 100%.

This is the shocking Season 2 finale that sets up the now infamous “Carver” arc for season 3.
CLICK HERE TO SEE THE CARVER IN ACTION

Alias: Alias when it started had a damn cliffhanger for every episode. The show was excellent for Seasons 1 and 2, then the quality dipped in Season 3. Season 4 tried hard to regain it’s status, and it did for the most part, and the season also produced one of the more shocking moments for this series with it’s “WTF?” moment of a cliffhanger.

“FOR STARTERS, MY NAME ISN’T MICHAEL VAUGHN”
